Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Osmond Community Schools

Fine Arts


Ajax Loading Image


Tigers flourish at "The Big Show" art competition

WAKEFIELD—The Osmond Community School junior high and high school art classes participated in the “The BIG Show” junior high and high school art contest on Wednesday, March 25th at Wakefield High School in Wakefield.

Students receiving Judge’s Merit at were Leslie Jensen (Fr.), Jessica Jensen (Fr.), and Madeline Huwaldt (7th) and Adriona Buchanan (8th). Huwaldt received two Judge’s Merit awards.  

“I am very pleased our students did well at this show,” OCS Art Teacher Jessica Bayer said. “This was a big show with difficult competition from bigger schools.”

There were 13 high school students receiving first place ribbons.

Some of the first place winners were Leslie Jensen (Fr., 6), Cortney Oltjenbruns (Fr., 4), Cierra Pfanstiel(Jr., 3), Jessica Jensen (Fr., 3), Karli Ferry (Jr., 2), Shaylee Vargas (Fr., 2), Zach Sims (Fr., 2), Maggie Kruse (Sr.), Briah Gillespie (Sr.), Melissa Reyes (Jr.), Erin Schultz (Fr.), Hannah Gutz (So.), and Shelby Stelling (Fr.).

There were also 13 junior high students who were awarded with first place. These include the following: Hannah Ferry (7th, 3), Brandi Gansebom(8th, 2), Alex Brestel (7th, 2), Kennedy Johnson(7th, 2), MaKenzie Vargas (7th, 2), Matthew Oltjenbruns (7th), Madeline Huwaldt, Landon Stelling (7th), Aaron Chishiba (7th), Josh Gansebom (7th), Justus Maertins (7th), Grace Broekemeier (7th), and Logan Wieneke (7th).

Six high school students received second place ribbons. These were Erin Schultz (2), Brianna Ruiz( Fr., 2), Melissa Reyes, Hannah Gutz, and Shelby Stelling.

There were 13 junior high school students who received second place honors. These were Alex Brestel (2), Mary Kahny (7th, 2), Shyann Rohloff (8th, 2), Kayla Wingert (8th, 2), Justus Maertins, Zachary Alderson (7th),  Alexis Solarzano (7th), Nate Christensen (7th), Madeline Huwaldt (7th), Adriona Buchanan (8th), MaKenzie Vargas (8th), Matthew Oltjenbruns, and MaKenzie Johnson (8th).

Students receiving honorable mention ribbons were Justus Maertins and Dalton Kumm (7th). 

The art classes will now compete in the Keya Paha Art show on Wednesday in Springview.