Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Osmond Community Schools



Ajax Loading Image


Tigers are Norfolk Catholic Invitational Champions


            The Osmond Tigers outdistanced a strong field to win the Norfolk Catholic Invitational.  This was the first time the Tigers had been a part of this tough meet held at Skyview Lake. 

          Early in the race Johnson Chishiba, Mason Bykerk, and Graysen Schultze were running together just behind the leaders.  Aaron Chishiba, Ryan Schmit, and Octavio Palacios were also running together just back of their teammates. 

          At the finish gate Hartington’s Carson Noecker won the race in 16:43.61 and Pierce’s Mason Sindelar was second in 17:05.08.  Mason Bykerk was the first Tiger to the line in 10th place in 18:14.67 and Graysen Schultze was 13th in 18:25.55.  Johnson Chishiba also collected a medal in 15th place in a time of 18:30.73.  Ryan Schmit was the fourth Osmond runner and finished in 29th place in 19:32.20 and Aaron Chishiba 32nd in a time of 19:36.90.  Octavio came across the line in 20:04.99 for 43 place in a field of 97 varsity runners.

          The final scores showed 15 teams with Osmond scoring 61 points for first place and Pierce 67 for second.  Hartington-Newcastle was third 71 points followed by Stanton and Norfolk Catholic.

          In the Junior Varsity division The Tigers finished second to Hartington and just ahead of Wayne.  Kaden Polt medaled for the Tigers in 10th place (21:28.41).  Zach Alderson was even with Kaden for 11th place (21:28.97), video separated the places.  Justus Maertins was 14th (21:30.76) and Robert Aschoff right behind in 15th place (21:33.55). These four Tigers ran together for the entire race.

          The next pair of Tigers was Bodie True in 25th place (23:31.60) and Keaton Timmerman in 26th (23:35.33).  Not far behind was Hunter Beacom in 34th place (24:52.91) and Karter Johnson 35th (24:55.73), and Connor vonRentzell in 48th place at (27:56.13).  There were 60 JV runners that ran with the Varsity for a total of 157 runners on the course at one time.

          There were 79 girls in the field and Osmond’s Riley Wagner was the top Tiger finisher.  Riley finished in 46 place (26:45.98) .  Lexi Beacom was 64th (29:25.56) and Hayle Krienert was 65th (29:29.06) with Jozie Kumm 71st (31:08.59).   The Tigers placed 13th of 14 teams.

          “I was very pleased with the way all the teams competed” praised Coach Joe Ortmeier, “we knew the course was tough and the teams would be very strong, and so for the boy’s to come out on top was quite an accomplishment.”

          The girl’s junior high team placed 6th of 11 teams.  The race distance was 2000 meters and 91 runners started the race.  Keli Aschoff finished in 20th place in 8:45.36.  Erica Heiman also ran well placing 22th in 8:49.27 followed by Caydence Krienert in 27th and clocked at 8:55.74. Juliana Kumm was 40th in 9:21.38 and Brianna Kumm was 44th in 9:26.11.

          In the boy’s 2000 meter race a large group of 109 runners lined up at the start.  By the end of the run James Doyle had placed 26th in a nice time of 8:00.26. Andrew Bucklew also placed well as he crossed the line in 68th place in a time of 8:57.37.

          “The young Tigers ran very well especially with so many runners.  We rarely race in numbers like that so the experience will serve us well later” noted Coach Ortmeier.

Team Scores:

                    Boys                     Girls                     JV-boys                JH-girls

1        61      Osmond      19      BC/NG       14      Hart-New   31      Norfolk

2        67      Pierce         35      Blom/Wau  40      Osmond      47      Crofton

3        71      Hart/New    53      Hart/New    48      Wayne        67      Wayne

4        101    Stanton       98      Wayne        49      BC/NG       81      E-V

5        102    NC              102    O-C             72      O’Neill        88      O’Neill

6        104    BRLD         107    BC                                           97      Osmond

7        108    W-P            114    O’Neill                                    107    Bloomfield

8        130    BC/NG       121    NC                                           127    W-P

9        137    Crofton       128    HSF                                         136    HSF

10      143    O’Neill        151    Crofton                                    159    Madison

11      167    Wayne        195    W-P                                         189    O-C

12      202    E-V             202    H/LHF

13      209    Madison     227    Osmond

14      213    H/LHF        245    BRLD