Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Osmond Community Schools



Ajax Loading Image


Lewis & Clark Conference: Boys Fifth / Girls Sixth


            Saturday April 28th all seventeen teams in the Lewis & Clark Conference descended onto the Laurel-Concord-Coleridge Athletic complex.  At the end of a very nice weather day Hartington-Newcastle won both divisions of the meet. The Wildcat boy’s outdistanced Ponca 123.5 to 84 and the girl’s won 104 to 96.5 also over Ponca. 

          Osmond did have a pair of Conference champions.  Makenzie Johnson won the high jump with a leap of 4-10.  The 400-relay team also won gold in a time of 54.28.  Team members were Kennedy Johnson, Makenzie Johnson, Haven Schultze, and Andrea Schmit. 

          The girl’s 1600-relay took second place in their best effort of the season of 4:33.40 behind Ponca’s 4:27.99.  The same foursome as the 400-relay just switched up a bit.  Third place went to Haven Schultze in the 100 meters in 13.34 and later fifth in the 200 meters in a time of 28.93. Caitlin Kumm tied for third place in the high jump at 4-6.  Kennedy Johnson ran to a fourth place finish in the 400 meters in her top time of the season of 65.04.   Makenzie Johnson scored a seventh place finish in the 100 hurdles in her best time of 17.97 and Kennedy Johnson was eighth in the triple jump at 29-6.

          The 3200-relay team placed seventh in 12:21.24.  Team members were Lexi Beacom, Antonia vonMeer, Elisa Herrera, and Madeline Huwaldt.  Mary Kahny made the finals of the discus but did not place. 

          Top finisher for the boy’s was Justus Maertins in the 300 hurdles.  Justus came from the middle of the pack with four hurdles to go moving up till the second to last hurdle where he passed AdeDamola Akinnigbagbe of Plainview and pulled even with Turner Korth of Hartington at the finish line. Korth won the race with a time of 43.20 and Justus’s time was 43.28 automatic timing. He also fifth in the 110 high hurdles in 16.98 his fastest time ever.

          Alex Palu finished third in the 200 meters in 24.01 and Aaron Chishiba was eighth in 25.28.  Jared Bessmer finished in third place in the 3200 meters with a time of 11:24.22 and Joshua Gansebom was seventh at 11:43.30.  Jared also collected fourth place in the 1600 meters in 5:07.00.

          Anthony Heiman ran a strong 400 meters finishing third in 53.18 his best time of the season.  He was also sixth in the 800 meters in 2:14.42. Johnson Chishiba just missed out of the medals in ninth place.

          The 3200-relay team placed third and was clocked at their fastest time of the year of 9:01.28.  Team members were Johnson Chishiba, Joshua Gansebom, Jared Bessmer, and Anthony Heiman.  The 1600-relay team also recorded their best time of the season at 3:45.38 for fourth place.  Team members were Justus Maertins, Connor Gutz, Johnson Chishiba, and Anthony Heiman. The 400-relay team came in eighth in 48.06 and team members were Aaron Chishiba, Nick Reikofski, Colton Beacom, and Alex Palu. 

          In the field events Graysen Schultze made the finals of the triple jump and Alexis Solorzano made the shot put final, but neither placed.

          “I was pleased with our effort in this big meet and we had a few outstanding accomplishments. This will help prepare us for Districts” Coach Ortmeier said. “This is our girl’s best conference finish in quite a few years.”


Girls Scores                                                  Boys Scores

104     Hartington-Newcastle

123     Hartington-Newcastle

  96     Ponca 

  84     Ponca

  81     Emerson -Pender

  79     Creighton

  74     Plainview

  79     Wakefield

  56     Wausa

  53     Osmond

  54     Osmond

  49     Bloomfield

  47     Bloomfield

  37     Plainview

  44     Allen

  31     Allen    

  24     Wynot

  28     Winside

  20     Randolph

  21     Walthill

  18     Creighton

  20     Emerson-Pender

  16     Laurel-Concord

  16     Wynot

  14     Wakefield

  16     Randolph

  10     Homer

  15     Homer

    1     Winside

    4     Wausa

    0     Winnebago

    3     Winnebago

    0     Walthill

    3     Laurel-Concord